Cheesy Tortellini Casserole

March 12 at 9:26 pm 1 comment

This is a new recipe for me, from my 5-Ingredient Slow Cooker Recipes book (which, by the way, I LOVE!). I wouldn’t actually call it a “casserole” …It’s more of just a pasta with sauce, but whatever.

I mixed up the ingredients the night before and refrigerated it. All I had to do the next morning was drop it in the slow cooker and turn it on before I left for work. Now THAT’S how to do dinner!

2 15-oz containers marinara sauce
2 14 1/2-oz cans diced tomatoes with basil, oregano, and garlic (undrained)
1 12-oz package sausage
1 9-oz package refrigerated tortellini
1 cup shredded mozzarella (4 oz)

Lightly coat the slow cooker pot with cooking spray. Stir together the marinara, undrained tomatoes, and sausage.Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 7 to 8 hours or on high-heat setting for 3 1/2 to 4 hours.

If using high-heat setting, turn to low-heat setting. Stir in tortellini. Cover and cook for 15 to 20 minutes or until tortellini are tender. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Let stand covered for 10 minutes until cheese is melted. 8 servings

My thoughts: This was pretty tasty and VERY easy to make. Nothing super out of the ordinary here… We had ours with Italian bread and green beans the first night, salad the second. I will mention that (for us at least) it made 6 servings rather than 8.
Things I used to make it healthier:

  • Turkey sausage rather than pork
  • Whole-wheat tortellini
  • Cheese made from 2% milk
photo-246.jpg
Entry filed under: Recipes, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Welcome to my kitchen! Swiss Cheese Fondue

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mjpuzzlemom  |  March 13 at 5:57 am

    Love my crockpot. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I have many crockpot recipes at my blog. I found yours using Tag Surfer.

    You might be interested in a meme called Slow Cooker Thursday .

    MJ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


