Gnocchi al Pesto

June 29 at 4:08 pm 3 comments

An amazing dish I had at a local restaurant inspired me to try making gnocchi for the first time. I’d seen it in the store and heard it talked about on The Food Network, but this was my first shot at making it.

Turns out that potato gnocchi (pronounced nyō’kē) is not only SO GOOD, it’s also super quick and easy to make. This recipe* is a great way to get started making (or in our case, eating!) gnocchi.

1 18-ounce package potato gnocchi
2 tsp olive oil
1 cup diced zucchini
1/2 cup chopped sweet yellow pepper
1/4 cup prepared pesto
1 cup chopped tomatoes

Cook gnocchi according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, saute the zucchini and yellow pepper in oil until crisp-tender. Drain gnocchi; add gnocchi and pesto to skillet. Gently stir until well coated. Stir in tomatoes. Sprinkle with pine nuts if desired.

Gnocchi-al-Pesto

*posted by the Taste of Home Test Kitchen on Allrecipes.com

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Mandarin Chicken Citrus Shrimp with Penne

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim L  |  June 29 at 7:30 pm

    I *heart* gnocchi. Although I’ve never made anything quite this elaborate… usually it is a bag of frozen gnocchi from Trader Joe’s with all the seasonings included. I bet this tastes even better than that 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. AP  |  June 29 at 8:30 pm

    That does sound really good! Thanks for this post, I’m going to try it for the next weekly menu! Gnocchi is a little more complex to make from scratch though. I actually like to make Spaetzle, which is a German type of potato pasta. But there I go again, being all Swiss and such!

    Reply
  • 3. Lauryn  |  July 28 at 9:12 am

    Frozen gnocchi with seasonings included? And I thought I was taking a shortcut using a prepared pesto! 🙂 Ha ha!

    This is really very simple to make. I highly recommend it as a quick-prep dinner that doesn’t taste like one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


